Club History

Beginning: 2002-2005

Hurling was first played in Indianapolis on Sunday July 7, 2002, when a seven-on-seven match was played following the wedding of one of the club members. The club was founded shortly after and played ad hoc games every Wednesday night for more than a year with Peter Mackey of Waterford offering instruction. Neal Mulrooney and Shane Powell, natives of Dublin and Longford respectively, reformed the club in the fall of 2005, bringing with them a deep love of the game and leadership for the club’s future.


Indy GAA/Indy Hurling began 2006 by marching in the Indy St. Patrick’s Day Parade. Soon after, the Indianapolis Hibernians Kevin Barry Division became involved in the club thus boosting membership. Pino Gelato/Sataria became the sponsors for the Indy Hurling Club providing team kits and supplementing travel expenses. Connor’s Pub and Pat Flynn’s Pub sponsored the COED Indy Hurling League where every Sunday the clash of the ash could be heard on the Lake Sullivan Pitch where league games were played. The Indianapolis Hibernians, Celtic Equipment, ETA tickets, and Heraty Consulting also teamed up with the Indy GAA to help grow the organization.

Also in 2006, Colin Conlon of County Tyrone was named coach of the hurling team and Ian Heraty of County Mayo was elected Cathaoirleach of the Indy GAA. History was made in the summer of 2006 when the club welcomed its first female member, Brenda Gallagher of County Down, a former All-Ireland Camogie Finalist.

Pat Flynn’s Pub won the Spring Indianapolis Celtic Cup beating Connor’s Pub convincingly 5-15, 3-8 and posting a 3 -2-1 record against Connor’s Pub. The 2006 Spring season ran from April to June. The teams met two times in the fall splitting. Indy Hurling Senior Team went 3-1 against Indiana rival Purdue GAC. Club Man- Stephen Quigley Outstanding Player – Brian Church Most Improved – Kyle LaPrees Outstanding Junior Hurler – Kevin McMahon Cathaoirleach-Ian Heraty, An Leas Cathaoirleach-Stephen Quigley, An Runai/An Cisteoir-Ryan Doyle, Promotion-Matt Davis, Youth Officer-Bob Finley, Grounds-Kyle LaPrees, Coach-Colin Conlon


The 2007 season started with our second showing at the St. Patrick’s Day Parade followed by a joint training session in Chicago Gaelic Park with teams from across the country St. Louis, Chicago, Seattle, Washington DC, Milwaukee, Purdue University. League play opened shortly afterwards with O’Connor’s Pub taking the title over Pat Flynn’s Pub.

The team won the Dublin Irish Festival in Dublin, Ohio and also competed in a tournament in Akron, Ohio. Indy Hurling also hosted their first hurling tournament, the First Annual Indy Hurling Blitz at Habig Field in Carmel, Indiana. Ciaran Connery took over the coaching duties and led Indy hurling towards a new level of competitiveness and skill. In our first year at the Junior C North American County Board Championships, we defeated Seattle and lost to eventual runners-up, St. Louis. The U18 Juniors placed second in the Junior National Championships in Chicago, Illinois.

Cathaoirleach-Ian Heraty, An Leas Cathaoirleach-Ciaran Connery, An Runai/An Cisteoir-Brian Mathes, Communications-Rob Harrington, Grounds-Peter Mackey, Promotions-Andy Hazel

Club Man- Ciaran Connery, Outstanding Player � Mike Monaghan, Most Improved � , Defensive Player (silver sliotar)- Rudy Nehrling, Offensive Performance (bronze hurley)-Tim Fick, Hustle (broken hurley)- , Outstanding Junior Hurler –


The 2008 campaign again began with the Indianapolis St. Patrick’s Day Parade, with the club doubling its numbers for the event followed by a full day of promotion at various events around town.

The Indy Hurling League expanded to four teams represented by Connor’s Pub, Pat Flynn’s Pub, Fionn MacCool’s Pub, and Bloomington Irish Lion. After eight weekends and twenty games played both in Indianapolis and Bloomington, the Bloomington Irish Lion team took the Indy Hurling League Championship.

The club again won the Dublin, Ohio Irish Fest Tournament and competed in matches in St. Louis, Lafayette, Bloomington, Akron, Chicago, and Boston. The Second Annual Indy Hurling Blitz was another great success as was the First Annual Indianapolis Kevin Barry Ancient Order of Hibernians Tournament won by Indianapolis with teams from Chicago and St. Louis participating.

After the disappointment of last year’s championship, the Indy GAA displayed their desire and heart winning the 2008 Junior C Championship in commanding fashion.

First Round………Indy 3-7 Vs St Louis 1-9
Second Round…..Indy 1-16 Vs Philly 1-8
Semi Final………..Indy 6-13 Vs Milwaukee 1-7
Final………………..Indy 5-9 Vs Chicago Cusaks 2-11

The Championship team will now advance to the Junior B pool for the 2009 Championships in Boston, MA.

Cathaoirleach-Neal Mulrooney, An Leas Cathaoirleach-, An Runai/An Cisteoir-Mathis, Promotion-Michael Monaghan, Grounds-Peter Mackey, Coach-Ciaran Connery.

Club Man- Ciaran Connery, Outstanding Player � Mike Monaghan, Most Improved � , Defensive Player (silver sliotar)- Rudy Nehrling, Offensive Performance (bronze hurley)-Tim Fick, Hustle (broken hurley)- , Outstanding Junior Hurler –